The Meaning of the Three Indian Arrows

Under the treaty of 1713, the Saponi Nation was required to deliver 3 Indian arrows annually to the colony of Virginia in Williamsburg as tribute to acknowledge the terms of the treaty.

The use of the three arrows by the OBSN today acknowledges our descent from the historic Saponi Nation of Indians as well as our continued acknowledgement of the treaty of 1713 and the treaties of 1677 and 1680 which were confirmed and extended by the treaty of 1713 to all Indians incorporated with the Saponies under that treaty.